I Love This Song: “Some Kind of Wonderful”

Magic

Woman of the World
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score

This is a song that takes me way back in time. I was 15 and my favorite place to go with my friends was roller skating. This song got played a lot in the roller rink. The beat and pace of the song was excellent for flying around the rink and showing off how well you can dance on your skates.

This song was my introduction to Funk and R & B. It will always be THE SONG I think of when I remember the fun times of my youth. To this very day I still have my 45 rpm. I have considered framing it and hanging it on the wall.….

I didn’t buy the full album until my late teens. This purchase was not about whether I liked Grand Funk Railroad, which I did, but it was about collecting things I like. This is when I began buying full albums and started collecting Funk, R & B, and disco. Yep, disco!

Once I started messing around in music forums, which was around 2004, I started learning about music. I was curious who started what, and where the current day sounds came from as well as researching songs of my past. I learned this song came from a R&B group of the 60’s. A very unknown but influential group, Soul Brothers Six. I tracked down and bought that 45rpm, too.

I have kept this article bookmarked for quite some time. It’s a review of “Some Kind of Wonderful” and a rather poor review of Grand Funk Railroad……but this song got a good review!

in reply to the above review, the song writer, W. J. Ellison, wrote a letter to the reviewer. Ellison tells the full story behind “Some Kind of Wonderful”

I am grateful to Ellison & Grand Funk Railroad for giving me so much fun in my youth…

Do you like this song? Tell me your thoughts & opinions..

Nai Noswad

Reaction score
Funny( in a good way) you picked this song... I frequented a 'talc joint' in the mid 70's.... the girls poured talcum powder on the floor.. so as to give them boards (all the action!!)