Review Pink Floyd - Piper at the Gates of Dawn (1967)

album review

Rate this album 1-10

Votes: 1 2.6%

Votes: 2 5.1%

Votes: 0 0.0%

Votes: 2 5.1%

Votes: 9 23.1%

Votes: 12 30.8%

Votes: 6 15.4%

Votes: 5 12.8%

• Total voters

Guitartlp

Steal your face
Reaction score
I've never done an album review before but I'm going to give it the best i got. So here goes nothin:

The Piper at the Gates of Dawn
1713411948354.jpeg

I enjoyed this album alot. Pink Floyd's first album and the only one with leader Syd Barret on almost every track of the album ( Waters being the composer of "Take up thy sethoscope and walk".) I bought it and played it over and over for about a week nonstop. I started with Pink Floyd's Dark side of the moon album (which is a bad place to start being i was relatively dissappointed when i heard Pink Floyd's other albums.) I felt this way until i heard this album. Syd Barret took this band in a whole other direction musically.

Track #1 Astronomy Domine starts you off in a space ship and your leaning back slowly ready for liftoff. You wind up soaring through space at the speed of light looking out at the planets below you.

1. "Astronomy Domine" Barrett and Richard Wright 4:12

2. "Lucifer Sam" Barrett 3:07

3. "Matilda Mother" Wright and Barrett 3:08

4. "Flaming" Barrett 2:46

5. "Pow R. Toc H." (Barrett, Roger Waters, Wright, Nick Mason) Barrett and Waters 4:26

6. "Take Up Thy Stethoscope and Walk" (Waters) Waters 3:05

Side two

No. Title Lead vocals Length

1. "Interstellar Overdrive" (Barrett, Waters, Wright, Mason) Instrumental 9:41

2. "The Gnome" Barrett 2:13

3. "Chapter 24" Barrett 3:42

4. "Scarecrow" Barrett 2:11

5. "Bike"

My second favorite song on the album is probably the most catchy and that's "Bike."

The Songs flow together very well and switch emotions very quickly. Syd Barret, before he had his "mental breakdown" displayed very emotional and creative songwriting that made this album a gem.

I give it a 9.5/10

Attachments