Midler Says Lady Gaga Ripped Off Her Mermaid Character

METALPRIEST

Reaction score
Rolling Stone.Com LINK!

main.jpg

By Matthew Perpetua
July 18, 2011 9:50 AM ET Bette Midler's Delores Delago in 1978 (top) and Lady Gaga's Yuyi (below).Wendy Redfern/Redferns/Getty Images (Midler), The Sydney Morning Herald/Fairfax Media via Getty Images(Gaga) Lady Gaga has come under fire once again for her new wheelchair-bound mermaid alter ego Yuyi, this time from singer Bette Midler, who says the character is a direct rip-off of her own wheelchair-bound mermaid alter ego Delores Delago.

Wheelchairs in Pop: Gaga and Midler

In a tweet on Saturday, Midler wrote "Dear @ladygaga Ive been doing singing mermaid in a wheelchair since 1980-You can keep the meat dress and the firecracker tits-mermaid's mine." Actually, Midler has been performing as Delago since her 1978 world tour.

Photos: Lady Gaga's Best Looks

Gaga has not responded to Midler's tweet in public. Either way, the Divine Miss M has cooled off considerably and offered an olive branch to Mother Monster in a tweet yesterday. "@ladygaga, let's drink this over at the Emmys in September. Fabulous mermaids can coexist!"

annie

metal maniac
Reaction score
Oh come on Midler, since when does anyone have a copyright on costumes? Give it a rest.

METALPRIEST

Reaction score
Oh come on Midler, since when does anyone have a copyright on costumes? Give it a rest.

Kiss, Cooper, Bowie, Beatles Sgt. Peppers just about anybody I would think.

Actually on this one, I'm gonna kind of side with Midler. It's not just the costume, but it's the costume and the prop. The pictures say it all.

Anyway, just tossin' it out there.

I guess if GaGa had a Tiger suit in a wheelchair...I would think Midler would be nuts.

But whatever...IMO, Midler has more talent. :cheers2

ILoveJimmyPage

Reaction score