Illegal Music Downloading

Tattoo'd Lady

Scentless Apprentice
Reaction score
Illegal downloading has impacted the music industry in a huge way. Some music lovers believe its a great trend while others absolutely despise it. What are your thoughts and practices on illegal downloading?

flipflop

Prisoner of rock'n'roll
Reaction score
Illegal downloading is stealing and it's hurting the artists.

Magic

Woman of the World
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
I have some thoughts on this issue, and my position on the issue has changed drastically over the past year or so. I will post my thoughts after a few more people post in this thread.

I am neutral, btw. Not for it or against it.

Oblivion

Reaction score
:) I buy albums when the artist needs a little support but most of my music is downloaded (peer to peer) and not bought. As a student I can't afford to be against downloading...

Dave78

Dave's not here, man
Reaction score
Illegal downloading is stealing and it's hurting the artists.
Of course the illegal downloading of MP3's takes money out of the artists pockets, but I'd guess that (based on the language of a typical recording contract) illegal downloading takes MORE money out of the pockets of record executives. I think that's why record companies fight this issue so vehemently, and that's why part of me has no sympathy for the situation. Rightfully so or not, they seemingly spend a dollar trying to recover every nickel lost to illegal downloading. But what about the artist? In the olden days groups would get a percentage of album sales, but what about today's secondary market? Who is going after all these sellers on Ebay or Amazon for any royalties due an artist for selling their used cds? And who is policing the local libraries making sure you don't take one of their cds home and burn a copy for yourself? And how do you keep track of people using the "friends and family" network of music sharing?