Dan Fogelberg (Official Thread)

Craig in Indy

Your cool Uncle
Reaction score
I hope I didn't overstep my bounds calling this thread "official." If so, then Mods, do what you must.

Dan Fogelberg was one of the biggest selling individual pop/rock musicians of the ‘70s, ‘80s, ‘90s and ‘00s. His unique blend of soft rock and heartfelt ballads made him extremely popular in his prime, though that same material also made him the target of more cynical critics of the time. My own Fogelbergian experiences are kind of a mixed bag – there were things of his I loved, some I hated, but in almost all cases I admired his musicianship and abilities.

Fogelberg was born in my home town of Peoria, IL. If he had been living in the same part of town as me, we would have been in high school together (he would have been a senior when I was a freshman). As it is, the story is told that an old friend of mine was the person who first taught Fogelberg how to fingerpick. And as most people know by now, Fogelberg’s father (about whom the song “Leader of the Band” was written) was a music teacher and the band instructor at Pekin High School, across the Illinois River from Peoria.