Cee Lo Green - The Lady Killer (2010)

Cosmic Harmony

Reaction score
"Well hello there. My name is... not important, and I'm often asked, what do I do for a living? And I answer, "I do what I want".
Spontaneity is, the spice of life and I've indulged quite a bit. But, I'm not above the law, and I'm certainly not lawless. But when it comes to ladies, I have a license...

To kill!"

cee-lo-lady-killer-album-cover.jpg

1. The Lady Killer Theme (Intro)
2. Bright Lights Bigger City
3. **** You
4. Wildflower
5. Bodies
6. Love Gun
7. Satisfied
8. I Want You
9. Cry Baby
10. Fool for You
11. It's OK
12. Old Fashioned
13. No One's Gonna Love You
14. The Lady Killer Theme (Outro)

Cee Lo Green's "The Lady Killer" is my pick for album of the year from 2010. Even though it came out last year though it's had a much bigger impact this year both because of the great, continued success of it's lead single (which I will get to momentarily) and because it's proving to be an album with growing longevity.

Don't let the opening monolog or it's recent release date fool you, this album is as fun loving and soulful as you can get. Cee Lo Green modernizes the heart and soul (no pun intended) of Motown and vintage 60's soul and funk music with this album. With the aid of lush string and horn sections Green takes us on a journey with this loose concept album about love, sex, and heartbreak. There are different uplifting tones to nearly every track on the album both musically and lyrically. This makes sure that even the songs about heartbreak have an optimistic "the sun will come out tomorrow" sort of way about them. Which brings up the album's smash hit "**** You".